2 days worth

There is so much to write.  THere’s 2 days worth of stuff to tell.  Yesterday we finished painting casa de mi padre.  Jon and Sharlene did an awesome job on the back toddler room.  They painted numbers on the wall.  it was awesome.  In the afternoon we passed out teddy bears to the kids and troll dolls and other toys and candy.  They loved it.  During the afternoon.  Jon and Victoria took a laptop to a kid from the mountains who is in a wheelchair.  He is appearantly smart, but cannot access the computers because of his wheelchair. 

We all became very attached to the kids at la casa de mi padre.  Dayna was especially attached to Gabrielle and Victoria to “her daughter.”  It was an emotional goodbye knowing that we wouldn’t see the kids again this week.  We really had a great time playing with the kids and just showing them that God loves and cares for them. 

 Last night we went to Florence Mediate’s friends house Luciana and Balta.  They treated us like royalty at their estate.  They had an amazing view from their back porch.  The dinner was a tradition El Salvadorian meal of Papusas, enchiladas, fried plantains.  Many of us commented that because of the atmosphere and the service (they have 3 live in servants) it was probably the best meal we have ever eaten.  They were amazing hosts.  It boggled my mind that people who hardly knew us would do all of that for us. 

Today we got up early again and went to La Cisna.  It’s an all boys orphanage of about 140 boys 8-18.  We completely redid a bathroom for them.  Many times they don’t have toilet paper at this orphanage so they just use their hands and wipe it on the wall.  Everyone got in and scrubbed and no one complained.  We scrubbed the tile until our fingers were bleeding from the bleach. We repainted the whole bathroom, installed 5 new toilets, and 4 new faucets.  Everyone did a great job working hard today and doing some really really dirty work.  It was very rewarding also. 

After we finished our work project around 2:30 we got a chace to hand out candy, balls, hats, and some toys to the boys.  They were really excited especailly for the footballs (soccer balls).  In fact in the morning while we were working and the kids were on break from school I asked them if they wanted to play soccer later on and they told me they didn’t have a soccer ball.  By the time we left today they had 15 new soccer balls.  It was a great experience.  After we handed out the stuff we got to play with the kids.  Some threw football with them.  Jon and I got to play soccer with them.  It was awesome!!!

As we were leaving walking past the boys dorm I heard a young boy crying and calling.  I went in to see what the problem was.  Here the 9 year old boy was locked in a prison cell.  He probably had a pending court date and this little boy was literally under lock and key.  He had a wooden board for a bed to sleep on and they passed his food through the holes in the bars of the cell.  He told us he had been in there a few days.  My heart absolutely broke for this young boy.  He just cried and cried all he wanted was the little soccer pinnies and troll dolls that we had handed out to the other kids.  The only thing i could do was hold him through the bars and hug him and prayed for him.  We cried together there at that jail cell.  I was able to give him a soccer pinnie and a troll doll before we left.  He just kept saying thank you over and over again.  He didn’t want to let go of me huggin him through the bars.  It was a really emotional encounter. 

Tonight we got to have pizza with Kurt’s (the local missionary) family.  We made about 100 sandwiches and drove them around to pass out to homeless kids and adults.  This was a great experience for us.  At one place the homeles people were storming the truck and we ran out of food and had to get out of there.  They wouldn’t let go of the empty boxes because they thought we had more food, but we didn’t.  We almost ran a couple of them over.

I’m exhausted tonigt so no pictures.  maybe tomorrow.  We haven’t had internet access here for a couple days that’s why we didn’t post.  I’ll try to keep you all up to date.  Thank you for your prayers and words of encouragement.

If you read this blog please post something to us.  We LOVE to hear thoughts and prayers from home!!!

The wall Jon and Sharlene paintedJon giving the laptop to the handicapped boyView from dinner at Luciana and Balta’sLa Cisna Bathroom BeforeLa Cisna Bathroom in the middleLa Cisna Bathroom AfterLa Cisna BoysHanding out ballsDonations to La CisnaMe and Juan in his jail cellPreparing to feed the homeless

About bgratton

I'm the Pastor of Community Involvement at Discovery Christian Church www.discovertogether.com I have a beautiful wife, Kristen and two lovely boys Kai (2) and Kaden (1).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2 days worth

  1. Todd says:

    WOW all I can say is wow. I am really proud to be a part of a church who puts that much effort into spreading God’s will. We love you guy’s

  2. Todd says:

    WOW all I can say is wow. I am really proud to be a part of a church who puts that much effort into spreading God’s will. We love you guy’s. Good luck with the rest of your travels. No internet access how is that possible!!lol

  3. Kent says:

    All I can think of is the old song by Audio Adreneline.
    I want to be Your hands. I want to be Your feet.
    I’ll go where You send me.
    And I’ll try to touch the world like You touched my life.
    So I’ll try to be Your hands.

    To all of you…Thanks for being God’s hands and feet.

  4. Erica says:

    Know that you are making an incredible impact for eternity- not just in this town, in these lives. We are praying for you all…and for even more opportunities to share God’s love!

  5. Kathy Rusko says:

    I just sat here, reading all this, drinking my first cup of coffee for the day, and crying. We didn’t have any electric here from 4 pm till around 4 am, so I didn’t get to check the blog until now. I so wish I could be there, now or in the future. I am probably way too old to be of any use anyway. I so wish you could just gather all the kids up and bring them home with you, and all of us in the church could give them new homes. No child should ever have to live parentless, and in such a way. I am praying for all of you, for all to go well (it seems to be going well) while there, and for a safe trip home. Work hard, an enjoy what there is to enjoy there. I love you all, Kathy Rusko

  6. Janeen says:

    I cannot even imagine the emotional impact of this trip.I too wish I were there! I want you to bring every one of those children back with you! Do they have an asoption policy or anything? I have so many questions. My heart just aches for those boys. I know this is probably the most emotional trip you have been on. I will continue praying for you all I will pray God will keep up your strenght physically, emotionally, and Spiritually! Keep up the AWESOME work for the Lord.

  7. Janeen says:

    I cannot even imagine the emotional impact of this trip.I too wish I were there! I want you to bring every one of those children back with you! Do they have an asoption policy or anything? I have so many questions. My heart just aches for those boys. I know this is probably the most emotional trip you have been on. I will continue praying for you all I will pray God will keep up your strenght physically, emotionally, and Spiritually! Keep up the AWESOME work for the Lord.

  8. friend says:

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your days and post pictures!! What an INCREDIBLE experience for all of you!! Thank you for doing this for the world!!

Leave a Reply

